Everybody is a nobody :

 
I always find it very strange the tendency of people to emphasise on whose idea it is rather than the idea itself.
 
I for one have been credited many times for innovative ideas and also discovering so many talents both in actors and technicians. But did it occur to anyone what I might have thought about those ideas and the talents at that point of time?
 
The fact is that I never thought anything of anybody or anything or thought everything of everybody and every thing. The only reason I took Anurag Kashyap in Satya was nothing to do with my perception of his talent, but it was because he was the first writer to approach me after I decided to make that film. And later on he got Saurabh Shukla to join in as a co-writer. Why I credited Saurabh Shukla’s name first in the titles of satya was because he was older in age than Anurag.
 
People thought Anurag was the main guy among the two because I continued to work with Anurag and not Saurabh. The reason I did that was because Saurabh got married and he did not have as much time as Anurag to hang out with me.
 
Similarly I did not think that Shimit Amin was more talented than Prawal Raman just because Shimit made Ab Tak Chappan and Prawal made Gayab. On the contrary I believe that given the material of Ab Tak Chappan Prawal would have made a better film and given the material of Gayab Shimit would have made it worse.
 
I made Satya and Daud back-to-back at the same time. So who is the real me? Anurag writes “Satya” and “Main Aisa Hi Hoon” and makes “Black Friday” and No Smoking”. So who is the real Anurag?
 
Likewise why would Rakesh Mehra make “Aks” first and “Rang De Basanti” next? Why did Ashutosh waste his time and talent on “Baazi” before he could make a “Lagaan” and why were Yashraj making blockbusters last year and failures this year?
 
The fact is that each and every one of us here are as good or bad as the material we take up at that particular time. The rest of the hype is in the media’s, the industry’s and the audiences mind. Fair enough the material I or anyone picks up surely is an individual choice but without knowing what factors affected that choice at that particular time, one cannot take it for granted that someone is very talented. That is just being ignorant about what goes behind the making of a film.
 
In effect I am saying if Anaurag came to me for Daud, we would have made as bad a film and if some other writer was in Satya it would have been as good. I am not taking away the credit off him or Saurabh’s or Sandeep Chowta’s or the various actors and technicians of that film. All I am saying is that we all shined because of the material I picked up by chance and ‘chance’ is the operative word here. If I precisely knew what material to pick up why would I be also making bad films?
 
And what did all those actors and technicians of the film do before and since Satya released 10 years back? All you have to do is to list down the works of Anurag, saurabh, Manoj Bajpai, Sandeep Chowta, Mazhar Kamran the cameraman etc including myself for you to see my point.
 
In Satya an idea just fell in place. Every one connected should just be happy with it and forget it, and be thankful that nobody realizes that a good film or a bad film can happen as random as that.
 
The day you start thinking that your idea is you that is when you start taking yourself too seriously and you will start falling in love with the ‘I’ and start losing track of your thinking thereby loosing track of the source where the ‘I’ is coming from in the first place.
 
If I come up with a hundred ideas, out of which 10 could be film ides, 80 of the other ideas also fail and 7 of the film ideas fail too. The people will only know about the failure of my film ideas. For instance I am known to be a huge success in my video library business when I started which is true from the perspective of my family and my colleagues in the video business at that time. But only I know that it was a big flop and here’s why.
 
The reason I had started my video library was because I knew about 20 people among my friends and relatives who owned video players. So I thought that if they between them hire 20 cassettes, going by Rs.10- per cassette I would get Rs.200- a day and Rs.6000- a month which was the running cost of my shop. Anything extra I thought would be a profit which I can take a chance upon. Within a month of starting my shop I was renting out more than 100 cassettes a day but none of the 20, I was counting upon ever came to my shop or if they did, they never paid the money as they were my friends or were related to me. So in effect what I counted on didn’t happen and the success came from unexpected quarters. But I know in my heart that if I knew those 20 people would not come, there is no way I would have started my shop.
 
So am I a success or a failure? I would say that I was a failure in intent and successful by chance. I believed in Raat more than Shiva and I only made Shiva first because the producers did not allow me to make Raat first. I believed in Daud more than Rangeela and the proof of that is why would I make a film like Daud after Rangeela unless I think it is better.
 
I had the same belief in J.D.Chakravarthy to Manoj Bajpai to Vivek to Prashant to Mohit to Adhvik. I had the same belief in Urmila to Antara to Nisha to Amruta. I had the same belief in Anurag Kashyap to Jaideep Sahani to Sajid Farad to Prashant Pandey and my belief in any of them does not change till today. Some of them made it and some did not. But the people are seeing the effect of them and making judgments on them whereas only I know the cause of what made that happen.
 
Any way to cut a long story short the point I wanted to make was that all my successes were by default and all my failures were by intent.
 
Then what made me sustain all this time? It is nothing but me going on making decisions. Decisions led to me making an appalling film like Daud after the super success of Rangeela and decisions led to make a highly experimental film with sweaty bearded faces like “Satya” after the failure of Daud.
 
I would any day go on making my decisions and make my lot of good, bad and ugly films rather than sitting in a Barista or the Marriott coffee-shop having endless cups of coffee tearing down others films and planning to make masterpieces which will never go the floors.
 
I would rather any day live the moment and make my film right now which might not be remembered by others than endlessly plan and never make the film which I want to be remembered forever. But then I never said I am into public welfare. I am just a supremely selfish guy and my only intention is to have a ball which I am surely having. Cheers!
 
Yes, ideas are the main thing. But if the people who got the idea themselves do not know the power or value of their own idea what is the big deal? So it is far more profitable in every which way for all you concerned out there not to waste time on knowing or being in awe of ideators and concentrate on their ideas which worked for you.
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

81 Responses to Everybody is a nobody :

  1. Kedarnath Reddy says:

    Yea right.

  2. DD says:

    Dear Ramu
     
    I love your movies irrespective they are box office success or failure for me they always click. Looking forward to watch Contact and Phoonk.
     
    Great going!

  3. Unknown says:

    As much as i admire you as a director Rgv, i rather be truthful to myself on what i think when i read an article. Firstly your post seems more of an excuse for the few movies you have made recently. Rather than say you screwed up big time, you have choosen to sugar coat it with the how and whens of getting things right.
     
    I think you have been hurt by your failures recently. A sure give away would be on how you take the trouble to explain your releases in detail and then turn comical immediately on your blog as soon as the movie flops. Why explain the intricate when you actually never take your movies seriously.
     
    Seriously your downturn started almost at the same time you decided to launch your production house. Like you explain in your post, there was not enough time to look at  the good story lines or to meticulously plan your ventures. Proof of this are the directors who worked for you have gone on to bigger and brighte things while your creativity has been stiffled. Maybe going back to focussing on a single movie at a time would help bring that magic back.
     
    I think guys who have followed your career feel that there is a man hurting inside trying hard to discover that magic touch. Come on RGV you still have the fire, just wind back to the beginning and the answers can be found there
     
    Pradeep
    Kuala Lumpur

  4. Trimex says:

    Awesome!
    Very articulate and well said. You are pathetically amazing! I like your thoughts on ideas, ideators and self worth!

  5. Trimex says:

    Awesome!
    Very articulate and well said. You are pathetically amazing! I like your thoughts on ideas, ideators and self worth!

  6. Raghuraman says:

    Keep up the Good Work !!! Best Wishes and Cheers !!!

  7. srinivas says:

    I am being more impressed with your writings as was with your films.. Good job,. Not many in film industry got balls to speak up their mind. I think this is called enjoying the success.. What success is success if a successful person can\’t express himself in public???

  8. gouravaraju says:

    some one said you got hurt with the failures of your recent movies and you wrote this. but i dont think you are disappointed, you take them very lite. am i correct? and looking forward for your movie on VEERAPPAN. when will it be starting, can we have some info on that? dummu lepu nuvvu all the best.

  9. Sai says:

    Probability affects all of us. There is always a certain amount of randomness involved with any work that we do in any field and it might make you wonder about success. You say you got lucky in your successes meaning that probability was in your favor (and the random but thoughtful decisions paid off). When it wasn\’t, you failed. But you could improve the probability of success.You can make hundreds of films like Dasari Narayana Rao or a handful like Kundan Shah. It is your prerogative and it depends on your abilities. Not everyone is capable of getting as many ideas as you do. But if it is your goal to get the best out of your ideas (or those of others or your inspirations), spending a little bit more time on taking these "decisions" might improve your probability of success or even improve a successful film.Many a time, I have come out the theater feeling that you had started out with a good idea but did not spend enough time to flesh it out and ended up with an average production or an outright dud. That was my opinion as a part of the audience. Your experiences might give you a different opinion about the same.And what about the impact of success. If you weren\’t successful, you wouldn\’t be able to make all those wrong decisions. You would have to spend time on your decisions. Otherwise, who would back you? If you did make Raat before Shiva, you might never have gotten the chance to do Shiva or ended up doing some mediocre hero-oriented flicks before getting to do what you wanted. So, was the producer\’s decision right?

  10. Naveen says:

    On the contrary I believe that given the material of Ab Tak Chappan Prawal would have made a better film and given the material of Gayab Shimit would have made it worse.
     
    I think shimit was brilliant with ab tak chappan and i am not too sure if he would take a project like gayab 🙂

  11. Piyush says:

    I believe Daud is one of your best movies!!!You and Vidhu Vinod Chopra have one thing in common:Making cinema, in what you believe.What do you think of his movies and he of yours?

  12. Piyush says:

    I believe Daud is one of your best movies!!!You and Vidhu Vinod Chopra have one thing in common:Making cinema, in what you believe.What do you think of his movies and he of yours?

  13. Piyush says:

    I believe Daud is one of your best movies!!!You and Vidhu Vinod Chopra have one thing in common:Making cinema, in what you believe.What do you think of his movies and he of yours?

  14. KG says:

    Ramu,
     
    Appeared to be insightful, not sure if it actually is. But you have driven home a point which is "Balls to what people think, I want to make movies on ideas that interest me and no stopping me"…point taken.
     
    Outcome of any film anticipating a certain result could be very different from what it was supposed to have achieved. As films are based on those creative thoughts or what you call as "Ideas" in this context. I think "no idea", is bad. But "having no idea" is worse. Being in creative field, having been exposed to several experiences – good, bad and ugly, i am sure you would have some sense of what works..its true that it might backfire at times. What truly differentiates here is the ability to present that idea without being influenced by the so called "Ideators" taking control of your actions. You were the same capable director, Greatest idea – (Sholay), but not acting with your instincts, going by the actions of those external forces can set box office dependants on fire.
     
    We take your own example "Daud". Do you think you can never take the idea of "Daud" and make a blockbuster down the line? (I think that you could!) You wanted to remake Aag..What does that mean…It means that you are confident that "YOU" can turn around things. In this case, it is not about Ideas. It is about you. Its not always possible to keep churning hits or, even flops for that matter.
     
    Too many long sentences though!!, appeared uncharacteristic of your English :-). Cheers ! Take care..KG

  15. Unknown says:

    Hi RGV,Interesting point made. I think who implements the idea first, gets all the credit or flake. But it surely requires guts to try something new, something out of the ordinary and something out of the routine. To be successful you have to be ready to take the flakes along with the accolades. Ashwin

  16. Chris says:

    "…..my only intention is to have a ball which I am surely having"Bravo!  That is the best sort of intention to have. Having a ball, doing whatever it is that you enjoy, is all that matters!

  17. karthik says:

    if you really re-read this post and think deeply on how an idea originates (by inspiration and imagination, never by chance) and how people act either by default or by intent, then it gets a little confusing at one point. Yup, I cant connect with this article. But I appreciate you typing something for everyweek. Oh sorry, you do this for your \’selfish reasons\’ right, yeah whatever works for you Ramu. but just keep them coming! 🙂

  18. Unknown says:

    RGV,
    Every blog is interesting than the other, like from movie to movie!!! Not contradicting to my comments in your previous blogs, however it changes from situation to situation…..!! HOnestly, waiting for a movie something like your previous ones….Shiva, Satya, Sarkar, Rangeela, Nishabd and ……many more off course…!!! Hopefully this time something like Rangeela a good entertainer…!!!

  19. Unknown says:

    Being an atheist, how come you made a film like \’govinda govinda\’??

  20. Gas Kit says:

    But till how much time does this decision generation go on… and does not the quality of them go bad if taken in the backdrop of continious failures !!!

  21. Kamal Aakarsh says:

    One of the very good posts on this blog. It again makes a point that it is only culmination of some best efforts that work and at times, the culmination is out of place which result in bad films. Like i always believe, there are no good directors or bad directors. only good films and bad films. if a director has many good films in his kitty, he is considered to be good and that doesnt mean he never made bad films.
     
    But Mr.Varma, dont you think too much is being written/talked about satya on this blog. I agree it was a good film, a well-made film, but many of your posts discuss something about Satya. You have made good/better films even before Satya.
     
    Small request. I again draw your attention to one of your good films, \’Gaayam\’. how did you come up with the story? and what made you rope in Maniratnam, quite unusually, for screenplay? Is it because you liked his work in Dalapathi?

  22. santosh says:

    SATYA is one of the best hindi films of all time & maybe even one of the best Indian FILMS of all time. But in a creative collabarative field like films ,"U CAN ONLY BE AS GOOD AS THE PEOPLE U WORK WITH ARE".U CANNNOT  BE EXCEPTIONAL FOR LONG IN AN EPIDEMIC OF MEDIOCRITY.
     
    Regards,
    Santino
    \’

  23. kedar says:

    Hi Ramu,

    Dont shy away from responsibility! why i say so because END of your
    films reflect that! it says out loud that you SHY away from
    RESPONSIBILITY!

    and you know very well what RESPONSIBILITY  means?!  u know it because
    you took it and made a decision to make your own films… you took it
    and created almost a parallel industry in Hindi films…you took
    responsibility on your shoulders and made all the films you made,
    produced all your films…you know very well what is RESPONSIBILITY!

    but as every one can see how responsible you are in PRACTICAL life like
    wise i can see how irresponsible you are in your ART life( may be
    personal life too? is it so? asking very plainly without being
    sarcastic! and its not about not getting married or having endless
    affairs…its about how one is! affairs or marriage doesnt matter!)
    …your ENDS show that…you are afraid to make THE STORY , THE PLOT
    and hence FILM end in a more RESPONSIBLE way…and then you casually
    say
    \’ Hollywood has better brain and for once i am not being sarcastic\’

    Hollywood doesnt have better brain than us and you are not being
    sarcastic…its just that at that moment you were in the mode of
    acceptance that you are less responsible in the creative process! its
    your life and you are better judge of it…its your life and you are
    responsible for the out come of it…

    and when i talk about END then i talk about the whole FILM… because
    its the END which matters the most…in life or in films…       

     Isike liye kiya sara prapancha, aankhari din sukh bhara ho! ( hindi translation of TUKARAM\’s marathi abhang)

  24. vaishak says:

    Yes…..Everybody is Nobody…..Thats why i am telling you that why should i waste my life doing things which  i don\’t want to do …..Give me a chance to prove my creativity….Let me write for you………                                        …………………………With love….Vaishak Nambiar………….

  25. Unknown says:

     

    Awesome article…ever thought of writing a book?
     
    you seem to be more connected with ur innerself…do u realise that your are more closer to God than you actually want to admit?? u mite say you are an atheist but the fact is contrary….and its visible in your attitude… that comes across thru ur writings…this article was by far the most honest one…anywys…no love lost..watever makes you happy…do spend more time in gettin clarity on every script that you work on….pls dont rush thru them…its obvious that you do tend to digress frm the core of the subject…and also remember that there are certain points in every story that people wud like to have a clarity on because you often tend to show only what you like without giving a thought about the story unfoldin to the audience on its own strength….
    Joan – New York

  26. Nisha says:

    According to  consumer activists a consumer the public has every right to know the box office collections to know the real value and reach of the film.

  27. Kula says:

    Are you happy always? or Are you sad always?
    if not both, what makes u happy or sad?

  28. Unknown says:

    Hi Ramu,Will you ever work again with Sirivennala Sita Rama Sastry again ?

  29. Unknown says:

    hiram gopal vermai am fan of ur films.hope u r latest film FOONKwill be good onebut i am ready to see it alone\’i am a technocrat and i know there is nothing like ghostwaiting for ur call my phone no is 9437962203  thanks

  30. noname says:

    1. Do you ever un-wind yourself ?
     
    2. When are you going to direct a movie on "Ramgopalvarma\’s Attitude towards life" ??
     
    3. How often do you carry those "un-earned" guilt ?
     
    4. what made you shoot a song like "sunday , monday , vodiley nenu busy my rooosy" from the movie   
        premakatha ?? hahahahahaha…. let me remind you of that movie if you forgot . Hero : sumanth ,
        Heroine : antara mali .
        http://in.youtube.com/watch?v=7u7oO_8a_2o&NR=1 
        this makes your job easier. unfortunately i didn\’t find the exact song. Thank me ! 😛
     
     

  31. confused says:

    CHEERS FOR YOUR HAPPY LIFEwise post.. gud lesson for ideators(its sounding like idiot ) or ideacreators (better word ..just love create word)like me. any basic reason for making films??

  32. Rahul says:

    I always wonder about one thing! How do you come back strongly everytime (with a great movie) after critics write you off? I want to know it, if you can tell me how you do it.. Do you ignore critics? If you ignore critics, how would you do it? ela?

  33. Narendra says:

    Just read an article about "Chakrapaani" gaaru of the famous "Nagireddy – Chakrapaani" duo. On 5th of this month he would be celebrating his 100 birthday if he\’s still alive itseems, that\’s why the article. It suddenly stuck to me that u both have many similiraties. He used to speak out his mind no matter what the situation is. He\’s also the first one to accept his defeats. When one his movies floped he said "How will it be a hit when the hero is only sleeping in almost half of the movie" . In another situation he released a papaer ad about one of his other flop movie that goes like "100 days  . . . .  Had it been released 93 days before"  . This is another most important similiraty between u both. Accepting the truth. He used to give some suggestions to other producers in the industry and if they didn\’t take them into consideration he would still support that producer among his friends saying "When he is making a movie with his own money and time why should he listen to me or any other ? "
     
     
    For all those who are wondering who this "Chakrapaani" is, he is the co-founder (Naagireddy – Chakrapaani) of the internationally famous Indian children monthly called "CHANDAMAMA" which started on July 1947 and the famous "Vijaya Productions" that churned out massive hits and cult-classics like \’Pathalabhairavi\’ and \’Mayabazaar\’ in telugu. They made around 40 + films in Telugu, Tamil, Kannada, Malayalam and Hindi all together.

  34. Narendra says:

    Hello sir. Heard that u r coming to hyderabad for an audio release function on 5th of this month. Any idea of meeting fans?
     
     
    I remember reading an article in a website (I don\’t remember the url) that said that ur father was just like u in expressing thoughts. He too was very straight forward and didn\’t give a damn about what others might think. Is it true ? What influence does your father have on you. I know this is personal but answer only if u like to (which is what u r gonna do, only what u like).

  35. Narendra says:

    Did u see Kamal Haasan\’s "Dasavatharam" ? Any idea of working with him? I know that it\’s hard working with him as it is working with Aamir Khan. But I would always like to fantasise about watching a movie one day with my favourite director and one of my favourite actor involved in it. U already teamed up with my other favourite "Big B" .

  36. The says:

    what happened to chandan arora? he was one of the better directors you introduced!

  37. SUBRAHMANYAM says:

    Sir,
            There is a vast difference in ur face right from SARKAR 2ooo PHOONK, take care of ur health.
    U came to HYD for SARKAR promotions & recently PHOONK. Ur face is looking very strained.
    like 2 see u in skin fits and not casusals.
    Sakshi Gulati\’s Gorgeous than Amruta
      Amruta Subhash\’s performance is attractive  
    Rajesh Shringarpore\’s performance in SR is good.Hea has a verygood tongue power. give him some powerful roles in ur forthcoming movies.
     

  38. E says:

    Hi….Chance favors the prepared mind!!CheersEV

  39. Chris says:

    Greetings!I like the new title for this blog entry."Everybody is a nobody"!I once had that on a T-shirt I wore back in the early 1980\’s.A very true statement, indeed.I am really enjoying your posts here!  Thanks for sharing your thoughts via these well executed blog entries. I find them equally as interesting as your films. And I guess that shouldn\’t be a surprise, should it?  After all, they all come from the same source!All the best,Chris

  40. gouravaraju says:

    saw your interview in tv9 with yandamuri, do you like his novels? and another important question are u married?

  41. kunal says:

    daud is my all time favourite movie…..according to me daud was better than rangeela….daud was crazy, ive laughed my heads off in daud
    as a film maker if i get an idea i would make the film…..but is it correct to make films for your self? to remove your frustration? like no smoking was a very personal film(though i liked it) but the audience could nevr understand it because its very very personal, its a story of anurag himself according to me, iknow u have nuthing to do with anurag or no smoking or any ones film but i would like to know your point of view. when your working on a concept do you think about what will work and what will not, humanely it becomes impossible to neglect. though at the end of the day no 1 knows what works and what doesnt and one tries to work honestly in what he believes in but at times its hard to choose wether to plainly tell ur story or take care that u entertain the audience.

  42. Narendra says:

    Hello sir. Just read your interview in Eenadu. You said one has to register with http://www.phoonk.in to participate in the phoonk challenge. But where\’s the option to register in that website sir. If i\’m not wrong there\’s no such option available.
     
    Hey friends, did any of you got registered?

  43. machupally says:

    Hello sir. Just read your interview in Eenadu. You said one has to register with http://www.phoonk.in to participate in the phoonk challenge. But where\’s the option to register in that website sir. If i\’m not wrong there\’s no such option available.
     

  44. Unknown says:

    sir,
        this is bharath kumar. I am very much interested to see the horror films. so please to give me a chance and challenge of the producer\’s to see the film phoonk.
     

  45. Narendra says:

    Guys, here\’s a great news for all RGV fans that I just came across in a website.
     
     
    "After masterpieces like Finding Nemo, Million Dollar Baby and The Passion of the Christ, Ram Gopal Varma’s Sarkar Raj has been chosen for the Academy of Motion Pictures library (Oscar). Before this, there were biggies like Devdas, Kal Ho Na Ho and Lagaan from the Indian film industry.
     
     
     
    The script of Sarkar Raj will be there permanently for the reference of cinema students. The film featured all three Bachchans — Amitabh, Abhishek and Aishwarya Rai Bachchan together for the first time. It was the sequel to Sarkar and it was an intense film on politics highlighting the power games. The academy has got in touch with RGV to produce the script. "Yes, the academy got in touch with me and Sarkar Raj is going to the library, I am happy to receive this honour," says Varma."
     
     
     
     
     
    LInk: http://www.greatandhra.com/ganews/viewnews.php?id=9017&cat=1&scat=4

  46. Soumik says:

    I am ready for the challenge of watching \’Phoonk\’
    alone in whatever language, which ever place. Infact I am desperately
    waiting for the challenge. I havn\’t found any procedure for regisetring
    throught the site and replying here.

  47. Unknown says:

     
    Do you often after starting work with a subject,commencing shoot, get into pangs of self-doubt? How many times have you felt a movie not working for you  while you were making in it? I understand that your emotional context changes during the process of making the movie.When you look back at all times that you sat back to watch the first cut/edit version,how many times have you felt its turned out in a way that you did not anticipate for good/or bad?

  48. Unknown says:

    Hello Mr. RGVMy name is Prince and i am very well known guy from Hyderabad, now i am staying in Middle East so, I can\’t come to your office door. Actually i am looking for your official contact to send a script (title: Politics) as I have completed and please letme know your details If you need i can give you akkineni nagarjuna\’s refrence but i believe in self confidense as you do so please get back to me.
    Thanking You,
    Mohammed Jonaiduddin @ Prince

  49. Unknown says:

    Hi Ram,This is Mahesh,I\’m Biggest Fan of U, Why bcoz U are Legend in Directed in a FILM.I seen Sarkar and Sarkar Raj, If possible Please concentrate on Good Music.Why Bcoz if Music is Hit, Film definitly HIT.Still we are listening the RANGELI Movies songs now..!I like PramaKdha , GULABI, Aanaganaga Oka Roju , SIVA, KSHANAKSHANAM  and GAYAM Songs.If Possible please do one Picture with Nagarjuna, We need Music Block Bolster from U.Miru Fardeen Khan tho picture chesaru, which is musical hit but Eesha Deol aantha Bayapettaledhu.Small Suggestion from my side Varma, Please Don\’t think Bad.Please concentrate on Good Music..with Joy able Song\’s, If Possible please Do a Love Story.I can say one thing Varma Bcoz of U, U are a LEZAND of INDIA.From U only Ur Assistent Directors and Camera Man\’s are now Biggest Directors of TOLLYWOOD now..!Example Krishna Vamsi(Asst Director) , PURI Jaganth is Copying ur Camera style from U, Teja is camera Man from ur past pictures.Really U are Super Lazend of INDIA, If U ask any one in INDIA who is the Best Director in INDIA, They\’ll say one thing.The Best Director is Ram Gopla Varmaa aani..Next is goes to Mani Ratnam.**************** ALL THE BEST for ur PHOONK ****************By this Film Definitly U\’ll get the Past FORM..!

  50. Unknown says:

    Hi Ram,This is Mahesh,I\’m Biggest Fan of U, Why bcoz U are Legend in Directed in a FILM.I seen Sarkar and Sarkar Raj, If possible Please concentrate on Good Music.Why Bcoz if Music is Hit, Film definitly HIT.Still we are listening the RANGELI Movies songs now..!I like PramaKdha , GULABI, Aanaganaga Oka Roju , SIVA, KSHANAKSHANAM  and GAYAM Songs.If Possible please do one Picture with Nagarjuna, We need Music Block Bolster from U.Miru Fardeen Khan tho picture chesaru, which is musical hit but Eesha Deol aantha Bayapettaledhu.Small Suggestion from my side Varma, Please Don\’t think Bad.Please concentrate on Good Music..with Joy able Song\’s, If Possible please Do a Love Story.I can say one thing Varma Bcoz of U, U are a LEZAND of INDIA.From U only Ur Assistent Directors and Camera Man\’s are now Biggest Directors of TOLLYWOOD now..!Example Krishna Vamsi(Asst Director) , PURI Jaganth is Copying ur Camera style from U, Teja is camera Man from ur past pictures.Really U are Super Lazend of INDIA, If U ask any one in INDIA who is the Best Director in INDIA, They\’ll say one thing.The Best Director is Ram Gopla Varmaa aani..Next is goes to Mani Ratnam.**************** ALL THE BEST for ur PHOONK ****************By this Film Definitly U\’ll get the Past FORM..!

  51. SUBRAHMANYAM says:

    Sir,
         Do u use Belly-Board\’n\’Tripod for ur camera?expecting an Epic film from u.
    U r giving Overture music 2 all of ur films.U r giving a sense of the story in sound before the action even takes place.
    What\’s ur reaction about a Spec Screenplay?

  52. Unknown says:

    kaka…..seriously speakin nvr wanted to post a comment on ur blog for the fear of gettin screwed ….but I njoi others gettin screwed by thr gr8 tan tanta dan…. R   G   V……. aise hi 2 question hain……
    1) wer any porn movies available in ur video library…. if any .. wer r they now….
    2) on a serious note… sorry not tht serious….  wer can i get govinda govinda temple robbery censored part…
    esthe manchide… eeyakunte tagi nappudu nuvve target….hehehe
     
    PS: No theasurs ( not sure of spelling … telugu medium) referred  to write this comment…..

  53. wnkT says:

    another write-up that i liked..!! keep it comin raMMu… btw, was this an outcome of what jaggu said durin the homam audio function ? 🙂 jus a random thot…

  54. Unknown says:

    sir , iam frm vijayawada. iam studying engineering in v.r.siddhartha.whr u did ur graduation. we r waiting for ur films sir

  55. Unknown says:

    Hey RGV,
     
    I have opted a word from your film \’company\’ – \’dramebaaz\’. I liked the sound of that word you know 🙂 It was a right take on the media – \’jaat se dramebaaz yeh akhbarwaale\’
     
    My question to you is – Do you think Contract is a flop? – If yes, Why? – If no, Why?
     
    Thanks – Sanjay Panicker – +98295 16600

  56. Narendra says:

    Sir, the next time you come across J.D. Chakravarthi please fell free to request him not to try his hands or the creative brain (whichever) at music department again.

  57. Phani says:

    As a die hard fan of your films i was awfully stuck at the release of "Aag". As a distant stake holder even i have to face some embarrassing moments from my friends and collegues.I was also more painful for me to watch the "film fare" Awards in which you were given "Naa-Real Awards" by Sarukh and Saif.I always know that you come out with a big bang and after the Big bang of sarkar raaj and contract , to me it looks thouse dosent bother you much. 🙂 (Any idea of providing role to sarukh and saif , as you have done to suchitra in My wifes Murder)
    PS: I Am more excited than Verma to see "A film by Ram Gopal Verma"

  58. Unknown says:

    Hi sir As I Said Earlier Am Eager To Face The Challenge. My Name Is Rama Chandra Rao My No Is 9440433918
    Am Now Staying At Hyderabad.

  59. srinivas says:

    Ramu,Congratulations on your film
    `Sarkar Raj` entering the Oscar library.. I don\’t know what the heck it means (to you as well).., but it definitely sounded nice.. Still waiting on the list of your favorite Hollywood movies.. From this blog, I knew of fountainhead and saw it.. liked it..

  60. confused says:

    just a thought(strictly no advice)

    as a regular reader of uor blog …i can see u know exactly wat u
    like.. ..and wat u hate… just lik blk nd white … now just for one
    moment try 2 interchange it ..try to flip d coin…try to be/make wat u
    dislike … just think hw will u behave/make something u hate. .. ..ull
    say y would ny1 do that??…my ans is …just to have anathor
    prespective or  to make some dull moments intresting ..try it

    – alkuhs anihut (my  name written backwards )

  61. vaishak says:

    I just want to tell you something , Ramu. In fact, I have no rights to tell you about what you should write in your blog. But your reaction part is getting so personal.There is people who want to make you answer their question.They are so clever that they know by what kind of question they can tackle you…….Many of them have read ayn rand\’s \’Fountain Head\’….and they know you are a die-hard fan of  \’Fountain head\’….So they take points from \’fountain head\’ ask questions like \’ Are you selfish..? is there any problem in being selfish..?.. They exactly know that you will tell as " yes, i am selfish and there is no problem in being selfish..\’…Because that is \’fountain head\’ is all about….What surprised me was that fact that you get easily tackled by these questions and answering them so much predictable answers…..Much of your \’reaction to reaction\’ part is discussing about your personal stuff ,nothing about cinema….My kind of readers looking for your opinion and vision about cinema of now and future..and to be frank, i am somebody who wanted to write films for you…i ve done a lot of studies about films [i didn\’t get much big oppurtunity to get exposed to foreign cinema except American movies]….Research topic of my PG presentation was \’Influence of Movie brat film makers on indian film makers\’……….I strongly believe i can write sensible films….I don\’t know hindi well..but hindi doesn\’t matter but ideas..rite…?…….I am not getting any chance to show my creativity…you have given chance to even an architect who designed your office to make a film..and that happened to be \’D\’….I have some ideas which is half baked…. i mean i have a skelton or a skin of story ideas for you…its not actually complete stories but an idea which can spark something here and there….Can i write it here with your permission sometime…?With love…………Vaishak Nambiar……………….

  62. Unknown says:

    Sir… Interesting and introspective thought but guess, truth lies somewhere in between. If everything is chance  then the initiative to take a  chance is the exercise of will. And will is best supported when it has a name attached to it. That\’s how history is made. Ideas are as good as Ideators… if it was to the contrary there wouldn\’t be any idea including an IDEA called Life or existence. The world is fighting  hard to find the ideator behind this superb idea through reason or faith … if it was not then there wouldn\’t be any idea.

  63. SUBRAHMANYAM says:

    Sir,
           Pls give the video rights of ur movies to T-series. They r maintaining the quality of video as well  as audio.
    I haveSARKAR dvd of T-series and COMPANY of Moserbaer. The Mb isn\’t maintaining the audio quality.It\’s very dull.
             R u using N73 mobile phone? I wan\’t rendezvous with u, atleast 1\’s in my lifetime.
                                                                                            Thankyou
                                                                                        subrahmanyam83@hotmail.com
     
     
     
     

  64. Laurent says:

    Interesting, but I think it isn\’t only a question of chance or good material : if you and your crew are demanding, you can make better films than the average hindi movie. And you often do. Another remark : you\’re maybe right about Ab Tak Chhappan, it\’s rather good thanks to Nana but it could have been better (the second half is a mere revenge B-movie), and Nana did better films like Apaharan. And one last unrelated remark : I agree when you think that Abhishek is a finer actor than his father, but Amitabh has more charisma and star power, and Aag isn\’t completely bad thanks to his fun and impressive performance.
     
    Good luck & I hope you will make one thousand movies !
     
    Laurent

  65. Varun Prakash says:

    I read somewhere that it\’s the idea which starts money and not the other way round. What you said is one more example of that. And the fact that the success is often by chance is visible all around. I read blog of Ramu who made AAG and I read Ramu who made awesome Sarkar, Satya. I studied equally hard in my 10th and 12th exams but the result of later was far far better than the earlier. On admission form of a coaching they had some figures, and in the last line they had a sizable amount of success by luck as well.But just because success, many times is by chance, should not be a reason for us to quit hard work. Let\’s work the best we can and not think about the result. I guess this is what you and I do and this is what we should do. Regards,Varun.

  66. Varun Prakash says:

    I read somewhere that it\’s the idea which starts money and not the other way round. What you said is one more example of that. And the fact that the success is often by chance is visible all around. I read blog of Ramu who made AAG and I read Ramu who made awesome Sarkar, Satya. I studied equally hard in my 10th and 12th exams but the result of later was far far better than the earlier. On admission form of a coaching they had some figures, and in the last line they had a sizable amount of success by luck as well.But just because success, many times is by chance, should not be a reason for us to quit hard work. Let\’s work the best we can and not think about the result. I guess this is what you and I do and this is what we should do. Regards,Varun.

  67. Narendra says:

    To varun,
     
                A fantastic commment. I agree with whatever u wrote here.

  68. Unknown says:

    Good that you have leant that you, by intent, never make good films and it is only, by chance..i knew it from the beginning..:)
    btw you have a great knack of copying your own movies..sarkar is a remake of your own gayam..are you ideas getting drained..
    i guess if you stop being so megalomaniac (ex: naming sholay as ramu ki aag) you can make much better movies then what you are dishing now..
    btw just curious to know, how on earth did u even think of remaking sholay..!!!
     
    ~Anand
     
     

  69. Unknown says:

    Welcome (wow gold) and (wow power leveling) trading site, (wow gold) are cheap, (wow power leveling) credibility Very good! Quickly into the next single! Key words directly to the website click on transactions!

  70. Unknown says:

    Amberdigital Branch,Southern Stars Enterprises Co is specializing in the development and manufacturing of advertising displays, advertising player and LCD displays. Established in 1996, we have explored and developed the international market with professionalism. We have built a widespread marketing network, and set up a capable management team dedicated to provide beyond-expectation services to our customers.

    amberdigital Contact Us
    Southern Stars Enterprises Co (Hong Kong Office)
    Add:3 Fl, No.2, Lane 2, Kam Tsin Tsuen, Sheung Shui, Hong Kong
    Tel:+852 2681 4099
    Fax:+852 2681 4586
    Southern Stars Enterprises Co (Shenzhen Office)
    Add:DE, 16/F, Building 2, Nanguo Tower, Sungang Road, Shenzhen, China
    Tel:+86 755 2592 9100
    Fax:+86 755 2592 7171
    E-mail:sstar@netvigator.com
    website:www.amberdigital.com.hk
    alibaba:amberdigital.en.alibaba.com[acfeehaefeicfh]

  71. Unknown says:

    Wan Moshou game, to (wow power leveling) site to buy the cheapest gold coins! To (wow gold) for the best Dailian upgrade!

  72. Unknown says:

    To the global wow gold the cheapest wow power leveling under the cheapest single-site! -42971204149439

  73. Unknown says:

    Hi,Do you need advertising displays, advertisement screens, LCD digital signage and LCD signages? Please go Here:www.amberdigital.com.hk(Amberdigital).we have explored and developed the international market with professionalism. We have built a widespread marketing network, and set up a capable management team dedicated to provide beyond-expectation services to our customers.
    amberdigital Contact Us
    website:www.amberdigital.com.hk
    alibaba:amberdigital.en.alibaba.com[geidihdddhgcbc]

Leave a comment